National specialised medical care

The Swedish National Board of Health and Welfare provides licences to national specialised medical care services.

According to Swedish regulations national specialised medical care can be performed at a maximum of five healthcare units in the country. They are required to meet criteria to provide competence, availability and to work in multidisciplinary teams in order to provide the best possible care to the patient.

In July 2018 a new regulation was set in place in order to concentrate a larger section of national specialised medical care. According to a process that accompanied this law

  • treatments in need of concentration are nominated by healthcare professionals.
  • the Swedish National Board of Health and Welfare decides what types of treatments should be designated as national specialised medical services and at how many care units the treatments should be provided.
  • a board of politicians from each of the six county councils decides where the treatments should be provided. The chairman is the Director-General of the National Board of Health and Welfare.

Contact us about national specialised medical care

If you have a question about national specialised medical care, you can contact us at

Last updated: