Vi använder kakor för att förbättra webbplatsen

Den här webbplatsen använder kakor (cookies) för att underlätta ditt besök och för att göra webbplatsen bättre. Läs mer om kakor.


National Specialised Medical Care

A licence from the National Board of Health and Welfare will be required to provide National Specialised Medical Care (NSMC).

The Committee for National Specialised Medical Care has two primary tasks:

  • to decide what types of treatments shall be designated as NSMC
  • to decide what healthcare units shall provide NSMC

To apply for NSMC the application has to be endorsed by a county council by a special announcement.

National Specialised Medical Care refers to medical care provided by a certain county council and coordinated with the entire country as its service area" (Section 9 a, Health and Medical Service Act).

The committee consists of representatives of the county councils, the Swedish Research Council, the Swedish Council on Technology Assessment in Health Care (SBU) and the Stockholm Administrative Court of Appeal. The Chairman is Olivia Wigzell, Director-General of the National Board of Health and Welfare.

National Specialised Medical Care shall be coordinated among units that can ensure high-quality care and financial efficiency" (Section 9 a, Health and Medical Service Act).

Treatments designated as National Specialised Medical Care

  • Paediatric heart surgery
  • Surgery of grown-up congenital heart disease in adults
  • Ocular oncology
  • Treatment of severe burns
  • Lung transplantation
  • Liver transplantation
  • Heart transplantation
  • Craniofacial surgery
  • Cochlear implantation in infants
  • Intrauterine treatments  
  • Glaucoma in children
  • Brachialis plexus injuries and treatments
  • Advanced paediatric surgery  


Kristina Wikner
+46 (0)75-247 33 62

Per-Henrik Zingmark
+46 (0)75-247 41 08